Our Board of Governance

Our Board of Governance ensures WHIN operates lawfully, ethically and in accordance with the purposes set out in our Constitution.

Board members bring knowledge, expertise and influence relevant to WHIN. All of our Board members have recognised leadership skills and specific understanding of women’s health issues relevant to WHIN’s Strategic Plan.



Teresa Capetola (Chairperson, member of Development and Renewal Sub-Committee) was elected to the Board in 2015. She is a lecturer at Deakin University in Health Promotion and Public Health. She has worked as a Community Health Educator within the community health sector focusing on culturally and linguistically diverse women. Teresa served as a Co-Chair of the Committee of Management for Healthsharing Women while working at BreastScreen Victoria. 


SabiDr Sabitra Kaphle (Deputy Chairperson, member of Business Development Advisory Group) was elected to the Board in 2016. She has completed a PhD in Public Health on the socio-cultural context of childbirth in low resource settings. Sabitra has worked in policy, research and practice for a number of years in various sectors including UNICEF and Universities in Nepal and Australia. Sabitra currently works at Brotherhood of St Laurence as a Manager, Community Capacity Building.


Marketa Silhar (Treasurer, member of Finance, Audit and Risk Management Subcommittee) was appointed to the Board in 2017. She has over 20 years’ experience in direct service delivery and management roles in federal and state government. Marketa currently works at the Department of Education and Training, supporting government schools to improve outcomes for students. Her qualifications include a Master of Management.


Elizabeth Young (member of Development and Renewal Sub-Committee) was elected to the Board in 2016. She has a passion for public health and prevention and has significant experience in the health sector. Elizabeth has worked across community, hospital, academia, local and state governments. Elizabeth brings considerable knowledge and skills in public policy, program management, evaluation, strategic planning and advocacy to the Board.


Peta-web-croppedPeta Fualau (member of Development and Renewal Sub-Committee) was elected to Board in 2015. Peta currently works for the Department of Education, supporting schools with the roll out of the Respectful Relationships Initiative. Peta was involved in the Black Saturday bush fire recovery, supporting volunteer coordination and emergency relief services. She also established a housing brokerage project to combat risk of homelessness for vulnerable clients in the Whittlesea LGA.

Katherine Wositzky (member of Development and Renewal Sub-Committee) was appointed to the Board in 2017. Katherine has worked as a social researcher across local government and the community sector. Leading the Culturally Accessible Gateway Strategy at the Municipal Association of Victoria, she developed local government resources to address systemic discrimination and evaluated client support services of the Royal Commission into Institutional Responses to Child Sexual Abuse.

Lauren Cordwell (member of Business Development Advisory Group) was elected to the Board in 2018. She has spent the past 18 years leading initiatives to improve the quality and accessibility of health services in Australia. She is working towards a future where women shape the policies and services that affect themselves and their families. Lauren has a Bachelor of Health Science (Honours), Masters of Public Health, and Postgraduate Diploma of Management.


Tanya Stelmach (member of Finance, Audit and Risk Management Subcommittee) was elected to the Board in 2018.  Tanya has worked as a community solicitor specialising in family violence, intervention orders and outreach.  Previously Tanya worked in the international aid sector in South-East Asia and the Pacific.  Tanya has a Masters degree in international development and the environment, and is pursuing a PhD on violence in the humanitarian space.


Phoebe Prossor (member of Development and Renewal Subcommittee) was elected to the Board in 2018. She is an Associate at Maurice Blackburn Lawyers where she represents clients who have sustained injuries at work and in transport accidents. Phoebe was previously a member of the Darebin Women’s Advisory Committee where her role involved applying a ‘gender lens’ to Darebin Council policies and initiatives. She has a Bachelor of Law/Arts (politics major).

Karen Huxley (Member of Finance, Audit and Risk Management Subcommittee) was elected to the Board in 2019.  She has over 20 years’ global experience across aspects of governance, risk management and compliance, and financial management within the financial services sector and with ASX listed companies.  Karen is currently employed at NAB Ltd as General Manager, Audit. She is a Certified Practising Accountant and has a Bachelor of Business (accounting major).